Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

Awards - Scholarships

Scholarships are awarded annually to BC Hockey registered members to give recognition to those who develop their academic career aspirations while at the same time nourishing their interest in hockey. Applications are available between March 20, 2017 and April 30, 2017 and reviewed by a selection committee. Monetary awards vary from $1,000 to $2,000.


To be eligible for a BC Hockey scholarship, an individual in his or her graduating year of high school and must be a current registered member or a former BC Hockey member playing in the Western Hockey League. Applicants are evaluated on academic achievement, sportsmanship, hockey participation and / or quality of contribution, as well as school and community participation and service.

2016 BC Hockey Scholarship Winners

Bruce Allison Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded in memory of the late Bruce Allison of Richmond. Allison was BC Hockey’s 26th president. He was instrumental in establishing and pursuing scholarship opportunities for members of BC Hockey and advocated the pursuit of educational goals through hockey excellence.

2014 - 2015 Winner: Tyler Andrews (Delta, BC)

2013 - 2014 Winner: Duncan Stefurak (Maple Ridge, BC)

2012 - 2013 Winner: Jonathon Hack (Penticton, BC)  

Jeff Butler Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded in memory of the late Jeff Butler who was fatally injured during a Junior A game in September 1985.  Jeff was a dedicated young man with rare qualities of character and determination.

2014 - 2015 Winner: Keaton Roch (Nelson, BC)

2013 - 2014 Winner: Perrin Waldock (Chilliwack, BC)

2012 - 2013 Winner: Cori-Anna Huisman (Fernie, BC)

Ted Hargreaves Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded in the memory of the late Ted Hargreaves of Nelson who was an integral part of hockey development and coaching. He also combined his passion for hockey with his artistic abilities, illustrating instructional manuals for Hockey Canada. This award was first presented in 2005-2006.

2014 - 2015 Winner: Christy Wee (Richmond, BC)

2013 - 2014 Winner: Jessie Olfert (Penticton, BC)

2012 - 2013 Jordan Bordignon (Coquitlam, BC)

Sterling Award Scholarship

2015 - 2016 Winner: Robert Young (Charlie Lake, BC)

BC Hockey Staff Scholarship

2015 - 2016 Winner: Cassandra Penfold (New Hazelton, BC)

Excellence and Extraordinary Scholarship

2015 - 2016 Winners: Kadrian Klimchuk (Castlegar, BC) and Spencer Richardson (Delta, BC)

BC Hockey District Scholarships

BC Hockey Scholarships are awarded to recognize and enhance the opportunities presented when furthering one’s education. One of these scholarships is provided by the BC Hockey staff.

East Kootenay

Nicole Klein (Elkford)
Lower Mainland

Nicolas Oullette (Langley)


Emily Burlie (Vancouver)

North Central

Grace Barlow (Prince George)

North East/Yukon

Casey Norris (Chetwynd)

North West

Riley Coish (Smithers)


Evan Wilkinson (West Kelowna)

Zoe Konanz (Penticton)

Vancouver Island

Marco Carello (Sooke)

Jeremy Hopper (Powell River)





Show All Winners

BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member branch of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female High Performance
Major Midget League
Male High Performance
Site Map

Google Play Store
Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC