Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

BC Hockey 100 Great Moments: Key Arenas
Tuesday, December 25, 2018

British Columbia has been home to some historic buildings over the course of hockey history. 

Denman Arena in Vancouver was the first of its kind, having the ice inside mechanically frozen instead of the ice naturally frozen by cold weather.  Denman Arena was built in 1911, and hosted the Stanley Cup playoff when the Vancouver Millionaires won it in 1915, but the arena was destroyed in 1936 due to a large fire. 

Denman wasn’t the only first of its kind, the now ghost town of Sandon, BC, was home to the first indoor hockey rink.  While the ice was still naturally frozen by winter weather, it was protected from the outside elements.  Sandon was abandoned not long after the Second World War, the town was largely populated due to the mining of silver in the area. 

The Kimberly Civic Center was built in 1961, and was one of the most advanced arena’s in the country at the time.  It was not the first indoor arena in Kimberly, the original was outlawed by the fire marshal in 1957.  The Civic Center still stands today and is home of the Kimberly Dynamiters Junior B team.



BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
Major Midget League
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC