Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

BC Hockey 100 Great Moments: Pre-1919
Sunday, January 13, 2019

Before the creation of the British Columbia Amateur Hockey Association (BCAHA) there was some important hockey history that lead to what it is today.  The Dawson City Nuggets of 1905 challenged the reigning Stanley Cup Champion Ottawa team to a three (3) game series in an attempt to take the title from them.  Nothing went right from the start, as the Nuggets faced harsh travel conditions, setting them more than five (5) days behind schedule.  They arrived in Ottawa without their star player, and less than forty-eight (48) hours before their first game.  Dawson City dropped the first game 9-2, but remained confident as they were fatigued for the opener.  Records that will stand the test of time were set during the second game, when Ottawa player Frank McGee scored 14 goals, leading his team to a 23-2 victory.  The Nuggets remain the only team from the Yukon to play for the Stanley Cup.  The Stanley Cup is also much older than the National Hockey League, dating back to 1892, when Sir Fredrick Arthur Stanley donated the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup.  The name however didn’t last long, quickly becoming known as the Stanley Cup.  The now ghost town of Phoenix British Columbia, once had a very successful hockey team, winning the provincial championship in 1911, and wanted to challenge for the Stanley Cup, but were too late to qualify. The town, built around its copper mine, fell off when the mine closed in 1919, now all that remains is the town cemetery.  Rossland introduced women’s hockey in 1900.  In 1901 they began competition, and were practicing up to six (6) times a week.  The team was very seldom defeated, and would win the West Kootenay Championship every year until 1917.  The team is one of the longest lasting women’s hockey teams in the country.



BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
Major Midget League
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC