Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

BC Hockey 100 Great Moments: 1977-78 New West Bruins
Monday, January 21, 2019

The New Westminster Bruins accomplished something no other team has done before, or since.  In 1978, the Bruins made their fourth consecutive Memorial Cup appearance, but not only did they appear four (4) years in a row, they made the final.  Winning the WHL championships four (4) years in a row is something spectacular, and the Bruins fell short of a Memorial Cup, by just one game back to back years.  In 1977 however, the team won their first Memorial Cup, when the tournament was hosted in Vancouver.  New Westminster came back in 1978, their fourth consecutive appearance, and won the Memorial Cup for the second consecutive time.  Dynasties are rarely seen in sport, but are even rarer in junior hockey.  Because of the age cap in junior, there is a high turnover of players, making it difficult to produce a winning team every season.  The Bruins however, did just that, producing a winning team four (4) season in a row.  The 1977-78 New Westminster Bruins team was inducted into the BC Hockey Hall of Fame in 2000, and in 2015 the teams story was featured on the Hockey Hall of Fame’s website.



BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
Major Midget League
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC