Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

2019 BC Hockey Annual Congress Awards
Monday, June 10, 2019

The 2019 BC Hockey Annual Congress Awards were handed out to deserving volunteers and hockey influencers from across BC and the Yukon on Saturday, June 8, 2019.  They were honoured in various categories for their contribution and dedication to hockey.

This year’s BC Hockey Congress Award recipients are:

Coach of the Year – Ernie Gare Award

Katie Yuris


Official of the Year

Brett Mackey


Mike Landucci Development Award - Officiating

Brett Rafferty


Development - Coaching Jordan Moore


Development – Female Program of Excellence

Katie Greenway


Development – Male Program of Excellence

Steve O’Rourke

Prince George

Safety Award

Dr. Stu Gershman


Chair of the Board Award

Vancouver Pee Wee Spirit

MHA of the Year – Frank Spring Award

Sunshine Coast MHA

Indigenous Impact and Legacy Award

Ryneld Starr


Life Members Executive Award

Lee Holland

Prince George

Diamond Stick

Bill Ohlhausen

Okanagan Falls

Yuris is the first female recipient of the Coach of the Year Award since Christine Gardiner (Surrey) won the award in the 1996 – 1997 season.

The recipients of the Hockey Canada Officiating Awards, Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Week Awards, BC Hockey Scholarship recipients and the Vancouver Canucks Alumni Scholarship winners were also recognized at the awards banquet.

Hockey Canada Officiating Awards

Most Improved

EJ Weston

Juan de Fuca

Most Promising

Danika Kroeker

Prince George

Most Dedicated

Rasmussen Family (Verne, Jacquie, Everett)


Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Week Awards

AJ Sander

Richmond Female Hockey Association

Mike Bell

Tri Port MHA

Danielle Drummond

Haines Junction MHA

Rod McInnes


Leanne Smith

Pacific Coast AHA

BC Hockey Scholarships

Exceptional & Extraordinary

Madison Van Will

Liam Wong

BC Hockey Staff Scholarship

Landon Foley


Bruce Allison

Jake Sheridan


Jeff Butler

Connor Chan


Jim Stirling

Carson Stocker


Ted Hargreaves

Sam Miller


District Scholarships

Vancouver Island

Mickeely Rippin



Justin Vasquez

Connor Milburn

Lower Mainland

Shawn Callaghan


North Central

Gabrielle Pierce


North East/Yukon

Aiden Craig-Steele


West Kootenay

Shayla Elias


East Kootenay

Jacob Beranek


Vancouver Canucks Alumni Scholarships

Darcy Rota

Cade Enns


Doug Lidster

Griffin Evans


Dan Hamhuis

Mason Kenzle


Cesare Maniago

Jordan Sheets


Willie Mitchell

Carl Swanson


At the Canucks Silver Skate Luncheon, 2019 BC Hockey Champions were presented with congratulatory Silver Skate plaques from Vancouver Canucks alumni, Darcy Rota.  For a full list of the 2019 BC Hockey Champions, please visit the Championships page.

The Annual Congress is the main meeting of the BC Hockey membership. This is the only regularly scheduled meeting between the BC Hockey Board of Directors and its membership.

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at or email or follow along through social media at,, or



BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
BC Hockey AAA Leagues
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC